The Current Statutes

Current Iowa Statute?  
 
$200 fine
 
See how Iowa measures up!

Current Penalties

School Bus Stop Arm Violations

Descending order of Maximum Penalty

Red denotes states with graduated penalty framework

1.       Michigan

o   Double fines for moving violations in school zones

2.       Minnesota

o   $300-$3000

o   Misdemeanor- If child is on the bus

o   Gross misdemeanor- if child is outside of the bus

§  Judge would have discretion for additional penalties

3.       Virginia

o   Fine up to $2500 AND/OR

o   6 month license suspension AND/OR

o   Up to 1 year in jail

4.       Alaska

o   Up to $1000 fine AND/ OR

o    90 days in jail

o   6 points against the license

o   Class B misdemeanor

5.       Georgia

o   Up to $1000

o   Up to 1 year in jail

o   6 points on drivers license

o   Under 21- automatic license suspension for 6 months

o   Misdemeanor

6.       Arkansas

o   $250-$1000 AND/OR

o   90 days in jail AND/OR

o   400 hrs community service

o   21 days- 1 year suspension drivers license

7.       North Carolina

o   Up to $1000

o   Evidence from cameras admissible in court

8.       Maryland

o   $570-$1000

o   License suspension for unpaid fines

9.       Tennessee

o   $250-$1000

10.   Texas

o   $200-$1000

o   Class A misdemeanor if there is an injury

11.   Mississippi “Nathans Law”

o   First Offense

§  $350-$750 AND/OR

§  Up to a year in jail

o   Second Offense

§  $750-$1500 AND/OR

§  One year in jail

o   Third Offense

§  Felony

o   Injury or death of child

§  Automatically skips to third offense penalty

§  Up to 20 years in jail

o   Cameras permitted on buses

o   Questions on state driving exam specific to bus safety

o   K-3 mandatory school bus safety education

o   Cell phone use by bus drivers prohibited

12.   New Hampshire

o   First Offense

§  $100-$750 if passed on the left

§  $500-$1200 if passed on the right AND

§  30 day license suspension

o   Subsequent  Offense

§  $250-$1000 if passed on the left AND

§  30 day license suspension

§  $500-$1200 if passed on the right AND

§  30-120 day license suspension

13.   Oregon

o   $750

14.   Wyoming

o   First Offense

§  $200-$750

o   Subsequent Offense

§  $400-$1000

15.   South Carolina

o   First Offense

§  $500 AND/OR

§  30 days jail AND/OR

§  No less than 10 days community service

o   Subsequent Offense

§  $2000-$5000 AND/OR

§  30-60 days jail

o   If Injury to child as result of offense

§  $5000-$10000  AND

§  60 days – 1 year jail

o   If death of a child as result of offense

§  $10000-$25000

§  1-5 years jail

§  1 year license suspension after release from jail

16.   Indiana

o   Up to $500

o   60 days or less in jail

o   Class C misdemeanor

17.   West Virginia

o   First Offense

§  $150-$500 AND/OR

§  6 months in jail AND/OR

§  30 days license suspension

o   Second Offense

§  $500 fine AND/OR

§  6 months jail AND/OR

§  90 day license suspension

o   Third Offense

§  $500 AND

§  24 hours – 6 months jail AND/OR

§  180 day license suspension

o   If a child is injured as a result of offense

§  Felony

§  $500-$2000

§  1-3 years jail

§  180 day license suspension

o   If death of a child as a result of offense

§  Felony

§  $1000-$3000

§  1-10 years jail

§  180 day license suspension

18.   Ohio

o   $500 AND/OR

o   Up to 1 year license suspension

19.   Hawaii

o   Up to $500 AND/OR

o   Community service

20.   Nevada

o   First Offense

§  $250-$500

o   Second Offense (within 1 year)

§  $250-500 AND

§  6 months license suspension

o   Third Offense (within 1 year)

§  $1000 AND

§  1 year license suspension

21.   Louisiana

o   First Offense

§  $100-$500 AND/OR

§  6 months in jail

§  30 day license suspension

o   Second Offense

§  $100-$500 AND

§  6 months in jail

§  60 day license suspension

o   Third Offense

§  $100-$500 AND

§  6 months in jail

§  1 year license suspension

22.   Connecticut

o   First Offense

§  $100-$500

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  $500-$1000 AND/ OR

§  30 days in jail

23.   Nebraska

o   $100-$500

24.   Idaho

o   $100-$500

25.   Montana

o   $50-$500

26.   New York

o   First Offense

§  $250-$400 AND/OR

§  Up to 30 days in jail

o   Second Offense

§  $600-$750 AND/OR

§  180 days in jail

o   Third Offense

§  $750-$1000 AND/OR

§  180 days in jail

27.   Washington

o   $392

o   Proceeds from fines may be used to purchase cameras on school buses

28.   Rhode Island

o   First Offense

§  $300 AND/OR

§  30 days license suspension

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  $300-$500 AND

§  1 year REVOCATION of license

29.   Kansas

o   $300

o   Judge may use discretion for other consequences depending on situation

30.   Alabama

o   First Offense

§  $150-$300

o   Second Offense

§  $300-$500

o   Third Offense

§  $500-$1000

o   Fourth Offense

§  Felony

§  $1000-$3000

§  Drivers license suspension

31.   Wisconsin                           

o   $30-$300

32.   Pennsylvania

o   $250

o   60 day license suspension

33.   South Dakota

o   $250

34.   Arizona

o   First Offense

§  $250

o   Second Offense

§  $750 AND

§  Up to 6 month license suspension

o   Third Offense

§  $1000 AND

§  6 months-1 year license suspension

35.   Florida

o   First Offense

§  $165 left hand pass-$265 right hand pass

§  Mandatory Driver Improvement course within 90 days or drivers license cancellation until course completed

§  4 points on drivers license (point system corresponds to license suspension)

o   Second Offense (within 5 years)

§  Left pass

·         $165 AND

·         1 year license suspension

·         4 points on drivers license

§  Right pass

·         $265 AND

·         180 day license suspension AND

·         Mandatory hearing

·         4 points on drivers license

36.   Maine

o   First Offense

§  $250

o   Second Offense (within 3 years)

§  $250

§  30 day suspension of drivers license (mandatory)

37.   Massachusetts

o   First Offense

§  $250

o   Second Offense

§  $500-$1000

§  6 month REVOCATION of drivers license

o   Third Offense

§  $1000-$2000

§  1 year REVOCATION of drivers license

38.   California

o   First Offense

§  $150-$250

o   Second Offense

§  $500-$1000

o   Third Offense

§  1 year suspension of drivers license

39.   Vermont

o   $41-$1191  (Waiver fine $243)

o   5 points on drivers license

 

40.   Delaware

o   First Offense

§  $115-$230 AND/OR

§  30-60 days in jail

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  $115-$575 AND

§  60 days-6 months in jail AND

§  1 month – 1 year license suspension

41.   Kentucky

o   First Offense

§  $100-$200 AND/OR

§   30-60 days in jail

o   Second Offense

§  $300-$500 AND/ OR

§  60 days- 6 months in jail

§  6 points on drivers license

42.   Illinois

o   First Offense

§  $150

§  3 month license suspension

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  $500 AND

§  1 year license suspension

43.   New Jersey

o   First Offense

§  $100 AND/OR

§  15 days in jail OR

§  15 days community service

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  $250 AND/ OR

§  15 days in jail

§  License may be REVOKED

44.   Iowa

o   $200

45.   New Mexico

o   $100

46.   Oklahoma

o   $100

47.   Utah

o   First Offense

§  $100

o   Second Offense (within 3 years)

§  $200

o   Third Offense (within 3 years)

§  $500

48.   Missouri

o   First Offense

§  90 day license suspension

o   Subsequent Offenses

§  120 day license suspension

o   If a child is injured as a result of offense

§  Felony Class D

o   If death of child as a result of offense

§  Felony Class C

49.   North Dakota

o   $50

o   6 points on drivers license

50.   Colorado

o   3 points on drivers license

o   Variable non progressive fines

   

Lest we Forget WHY we want to change the laws....

 Angels in Heaven

who have lost their lives

due to

School Bus Stop Arm Violations...

 
Kadyn Jade Halverson
7 years old
Died May 10, 2011
Kensett, Iowa
 
 
 
Nathan Key
5 years old
Died December 10, 2009
Shady Grove, Mississippi
 
 
 
Nicholas Adkins
16 years old
Died January 25, 2009
Stoneville, North Carolina
 
 
 
Haven Brooke McCarthy
6 years old
Died Dec 10, 2007
Hamlin, West Virginia




Lexi Worrell
8 years old
Died Apr 8, 2010
Florala, Alabama





Gabby Mair
12 years old
Died June 2,2010
DeBary, Florida